Recent Emergency Management Articles

Emergency Management Blog Articles

Announcing a new webinar -“ADA National Network Learning Session: Getting It Right – An After Action Report on major disasters of 2017-18“; August 9th, 2018 Webinars begin at 2.30pm EDT/1.30pm CDT/12.30pm MDT/11.30am PDT/8:30am Hawaii. Registration: Free on-line at http://www.adapresentations.org/re...
Read more...
From Wired: How Artificial Intelligence Could Prevent Natural Disasters. Note that the Wall St Journal on 7/20 also had a story on this topic, but it requires a subscription in order to read the full article.
Read more...
The source of this article is not familiar to the Diva, but the topic is one worth calling to your attention. See: Credit Downgrades Imminent for Cities Unprepared for Climate Impacts, Study Says  
Read more...
Author:  Mark Peterson  Are you a life-long learner, or do you enjoy discovering new topics you didn’t even realize you’d find interesting?That seems to be the outcome for a majority of podcast listeners who access...
Read more...
Author:  Daniel Kaniewski, PhD My first day on the job at FEMA was the day Hurricane Maria made landfall in Puerto Rico. Since then I’ve seen firsthand the tireless efforts of FEMA’s dedicated workforce in supporti...
Read more...
Author:  Chris Landsea J.D. Boesch from
Read more...
Fort McMurray is a lesson for the rest of the Western United States about the increase in fire danger that we have seen develop over the years as the drought in the West has continued. For a wildland fire this was very expensive due to the loss of 2,400 homes and then also the impact of lost economi...
Read more...
Tom Bossert, who has been named to be the president's homeland security adviser appears, to know "which end is up" when it comes to homeland security and emergency management. If you look at the link above, it gives a brief work history. In particular I like the fact that he has worked at the Federa...
Read more...